Past and present, and us

Today we had two bitter, delightful meetings with the past.
Early in the morning, we visited the sites of forced and indentured labour in AsajinoThough the lush green shoots hid the traces of the tragic fate suffered by these victims, we couldn’t stop being awed by the fact that where almost a hundred people passed away while building the airfield for the Japanese army. This was followed by a visit to the Tenyuji temple where the remains of 34 people who were discovered by the East Asia Collaborative Workshop over a few occassions.

浅茅野での出会いを吟味する間も持たず、私たちは北海道でももっとも寒い朱鞠内にある笹の墓標展示館へ参りました。
展示館で、朱鞠内の共同墓地で眠っていた方々にご挨拶をした私たちは、今回の旅で2度目のご遺骨との出会いに恵まれました。
そして、私たちは導師を務めた佐藤住職との出会いから、私たちが歩んでいる旅の意味を考えるきっかけを得ることができました。
佐藤住職は、過去を変えることはできなくても、過去に出会えることはできると、私たちを励ましてくださいました。
そうです。97年のはじめてのワークショップの時から、私たちは忘れられていた過去に出会ってきたのです。

우리는 일본 홋카이도 슈마리나이에서 이번 행사 공동대표를 맡은 토노히라 요시히코 스님이 주지로 계신 일승사로 돌아왔습니다. 자정을 넘은 시간이지만 유골 발굴에 참여하셨던 박선주 충북대 명예교수님과 오승래 한양대 박물관 연구원 선생님 등 관계자께서 어제 모셨던 유골을 정중히 다시 모시고 있습니다. 저희는 이 글을 읽고 계시는 분들과 희생자분들과의 만남을 위해 노력하시는 분들께 감사하다는 말씀을 드리며 오늘 소식을 마치겠습니다.

Leave a Reply

